Reviews

2017-07-02
LOVE THIS PLACE!! All my life I've gotten the courteous "nice haircut" comment from my friends, which I've come to understand means, "oh, your hair looks different, I better say something nice about it". I've been to all types of barbers, from hair cuttery to skilled/experience boutique stylist, and I've always gotten the emotionless "nice haircut". I dreaded getting haircuts because they have always taken the personality out of my hair. Having been to House of Ebbitt 3 times now, I can confidently say Thom Ebbitt has unique barbering and styling skills. Now I get obviously authentic "Oh, NICE f*ing haircut, dude", and people reach out to touch it. I actually look forward to going now, because I know Thom is going to give it some flare. I also love the ambience of the place - its in an old house in a nice neighborhood in Annapolis. Thom and Isabel have a great decorating style with lots of interesting items from their long history of hair styling and traveling the world. Isabel has a wonderfully comfortable charm about her, that is a big part of the whole experience. Pricing is comparable to other boutique barbers, but the skill, style, and charm of the experience makes it an exceptional value. I'm so happy to have found House of Ebbitt!
2017-07-02
I found Thom and Isabelle online and after reading the reviews on Yelp I took a chance on them and SO GLAD I did!!! Thom clearly knows his craft and Isabelle (along with Angus and Stewart) made me feel so welcomed and comfortable. Highly recommend this eclectic and chic salon for any gal/guy who wants an experience that goes beyond a simple cut:color. Will def be back (and I may bring one of my cockapoos by for a visit as well ;) Thank you both!!! Deb Fiore
2017-07-02
Thom and Isabelle Rock! I have LOTS of hair that is generally out of control. Thom was able to not only tame the beast but bring it to a naturally beautiful mane of hair. He and his lovely wife Isabelle have spent the last year coloring, cutting and 'doing" my hair. It is head turningly beautiful when it is down. I receive many compliments. Thom is a hoot and Isabelle an absolute charm. If you are concerned about your next color or cut, you owe yourself the pleasure of visiting THE House of Ebbitt.
2017-07-02
Thom is both congenial and capable. I cannot recommend him enough. He is meticulous, working until you are happy. Most places time their work to maximize the number of customers. Thom makes sure you are satisfied.
2017-07-02
Thom is an excellent hair colorist and stylist! He takes his time, listens carefully to your desires, is gentle with a kind explanation if he feels like a better color or style would look best. I received 3 hours of individual attention to trim and color my hair. He kept the salon open late to ensure I got his professional best! His wife and business partner is lovely, kind, & also very attentive to your wishes. I have Very Curly hair that had led to numerous hair disasters with hair dressers who "promised " they understood very fine hair that is also curly. Thom truly knows hair! The price is high & I saved for 6 mos but it was well worth it!! Becky Schneider
2017-07-02
Being a 21 year old male it is difficult to find a reliable haircut. I can confidently say the House of Ebbitt is the best around and would definitely recommend them to my friends.
2017-07-02
Bar none, the best haircut I ever got. Because now I never "need" a haircut, even 8 weeks later. Tom cuts my hair in a way that as it grows back it always looks good. I never experienced that before, and had no clue it was even possible. Before, I always knew I needed a haircut by looking in the mirror. Now I get a haircut because the calendar says so. Tom's been cutting my hair for almost 2 years, I wouldn't go anywhere else.
2017-07-02
I have been a client for almost 11 years. My haircuts have always been great. Not only do they look good when I leave, but they grow well and look good for weeks between cuts. I always get positive feedback from people, like "your hair looks really nice" and "it shapes your face well". The environment is friendly, comfortable and relaxing. I enjoy the family like atmosphere that exists there and look forward to my hair styling experience at the House of Ebbitt. They really care about their clients and their hair styling needs.
2017-07-02
When I lived in LA, I went to the best hair salon in Beverly Hills, Cal Martini. He set the bar very, very high. Now I live in Annapolis and have been trying out one place after another (I can't fly to LA every time I need my roots done) Thank heavens I found House of Ebbitt. Thom is an incredible hair cutter, first of all, giving me one of the best cuts I have had in a very, very long time. Who knew he was once the National Hairdressing Champion in Scotland?? I didn't, until I checked out their website AFTER my amazing cut. And I have to tell you, my hair is not easy. I have a lot of it , it is very fine, and has enough cowlicks to drive me nuts when I'm trying to style it successfully. With my beautiful cut he took about 5 years off of me - may hair looks SO cute. And then he took another 5 years off when he told me I needed to warm up my hair color - a LOT. The result is that, not only does my haircut frame my face, the color is perfect for my skin tone, and I am beyond pleased. Thom and Isabel are both wonderful - wonderful people, artistic and colorful beings, who are lovely to spend time with. Add to that the lovely atmosphere in their meticulously restored vintage-style salon (but with all of the latest equipment) and the great jazz that is always playing, and the entire experience is relaxing and delightful. But most of all I am so in love with how I look now. Why oh why did I not find them sooner??
2017-07-01
Kim is just amazing at brazilian waxing would highly recommend her. She does not double dip the wax stick she throws it away each time it touches your skin. She also uses the blue hard wax which is soooo much nicer.
2017-04-28
I have been a client for almost 11 years. My haircuts have always been great. Not only do they look good when I leave, but they grow well and look good for weeks between cuts. I always get positive feedback from people, like "your hair looks really nice" and "it shapes your face well". The environment is friendly, comfortable, and relaxing. I enjoy the family like atmosphere that exists there and look forward to my hair styling experience at the House of Ebbitt. They really care about their clients and their hair styling needs.
2016-12-27
Thom is both congenial and capable. I cannot recommend him enough. He is meticulous, working until you are happy. Most places time their work to maximize the number of customers. Thom makes sure you are satisfied.
2016-11-01
When I lived in LA, I went to the best hair salon in Beverly Hills, Cal Martini. He set the bar very, very high. Now I live in Annapolis and have been trying out one place after another (I can't fly to LA every time I need my roots done) Thank heavens I found House of Ebbitt. Thom is an incredible hair cutter, first of all, giving me one of the best cuts I have had in a very, very long time. Who knew he was once the National Hairdressing Champion in Scotland? I didn't, until I checked out their website AFTER my amazing cut. And I have to tell you, my hair is not easy. I have a lot of it, it is very fine, and has enough cowlicks to drive me nuts when I'm trying to style it successfully. With my beautiful cut he took about 5 years off of me - may hair looks SO cute. And then he took another 5 years off when he told me I needed to warm up my hair color - a LOT. The result is that, not only does my haircut frame my face, the color is perfect for my skin tone, and I am beyond pleased. Thom and Isabel are both wonderful - wonderful people, artistic and colorful beings, who are lovely to spend time with. Add to that the lovely atmosphere in their meticulously restored vintage-style salon (but with all of the latest equipment) and the great jazz that is always playing, and the entire experience is relaxing and delightful. But most of all I am so in love with how I look now. Why oh why did I not find them sooner?
2016-09-30
Thom is an excellent hair colorist and stylist! He takes his time, listens carefully to your desires, is gentle with a kind explanation if he feels like a better color or style would look best. I received 3 hours of individualattention to trim and color my hair. He kept the salon open late to ensure I got his professional best! His wife and business partner is lovely, kind, and also very attentive to your wishes. I have very curly hair that had led to numerous hair disasters with hair dressers who "promised " they understood very fine hair that is also curly. Thom truly knows hair! The price is high and I saved for 6 months but it was well worth it!
2016-09-29
I found Thom and Isabelle online and after reading the reviews on Yelp I took a chance on them and SO GLAD I did! Thom clearly knows his craft and Isabelle (along with Angus and Stewart) made me feel so welcomed and comfortable. Highly recommend this eclectic and chic salon for any gal/guy who wants an experience that goes beyond a simple cut:color. Will def be back (and I may bring one of my cockapoos by for a visit as well) Thank you both!